The discussion of the Alien series of films and the props used in them is the aim, but if it's got Big Bugs and Big Guns, then they are welcome too!

Post subject: My company being sued....
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:03 pm 
Ok...why is it that people with disabilities have to go after companies like ours?? We dont even make these rules, as it is a state/federal law that everyone who drives a commercial vehicle MUST pass a hearing test per the DOT. As a driver, I have to rely on my hearing EVERY time Im in my truck. Sure, we have camera systems in them for sight help, but whats gonna help when someone yells to us about a child behind a truck, for us NOT to back up??? Or when a car blows its horn to us to communicate in traffic??
People like this amaze me...my wife, who is partial deaf from, can even agree with me on this....what do you guys think??? Heres the article.....

UPS violated anti-discrimination laws by barring deaf and hearing-impaired workers from driving delivery trucks, a federal appeals court in San Francisco ruled Tuesday.

The 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals upheld a lower court ruling that the world's largest delivery firm violated the Americans with Disabilities Act by prohibiting deaf and hearing-impaired workers from becoming UPS drivers.

UPS officials said late Tuesday they are considering an appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court.

"We believe this case is about safety," said Norman Black, a UPS spokesman. "It has nothing to do with disability or discrimination."

UPS requires all its drivers to meet Department of Transportation standards for commercial licenses that include vision and hearing tests. Those requirements apply to vehicles weighing 10,000 pounds or more — but the court ruled UPS should allow deaf and hearing-impaired workers to drive lighter vehicles.

UPS officials said the vast majority of vehicles in their 90,000-vehicle ground fleet weigh more than 10,000 pounds.