The discussion of the Alien series of films and the props used in them is the aim, but if it's got Big Bugs and Big Guns, then they are welcome too!

Post subject: two guns into one?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 3:18 am 
i got a question to a master gun builder

how hard would it be to use the gear box of say a M16 into the springer shell of the L80?

i was told Airsoft club pretty much does the same thing for ther custom built AEG L80's

and i want to do a Dog Soldiers suit one of these days

cheers

Pain can be avoided by not caring

Post subject: Re: two guns into one?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 9:34 am 
Noobie -- this has already been done. Mostly with Korean L86 models. Some with the rare MGC L86 and L86 Commandos wich are real kewl and real expensive ...
"We few, we happy few, we band of brothers...For he today that sheds his blood with me
shall be my brother."

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 3:03 pm 
as i was saying AS Club has it for sale

but i figire it it can be gun
250 for a AEG M16 (which one i don't know as of yet)
on L85A1 off of ebay, can get that at low at 30 bucks

but is it as simple as that? strip the gear out of a M16 and stuff em into the gutted L85A1 shell?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 4:18 pm 
In theory yes. But I wouldn't recommend it. Most of your el cheapo plastic guns won't stand up to skirmishing nor the stress from having additional weight from the gear box, battery, etc. My guess is that you would spend time (and money) in converting an el cheapo, then have the whole gun fall apart piece by piece. I wouldn't do it ..
"We few, we happy few, we band of brothers...For he today that sheds his blood with me
shall be my brother."

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 5:21 am 
The biggest hurdle to that sort of conversion is the magwell. The magazine well on the el cheapo's arent paticularly accurate and even on the more expensive ones theres often a fair amount of rigging needed to make the 2 different models 'fit' properly.